Smaaashing Away To Glory!


photoSituated in the heart of Mumbai (Kamala Mills, Lower Parel), is this virtual gaming pit stop for those who eat, sleep, digest, burp and pretty much do most natural and unnatural processes through sports. So there is something for each fanatic who loves cricket, football, car racing or just likes to indulge in some gaming. The USP of this place is the fact that it has taken virtual gaming to a whole new level. To feel what pressure their favorite players feel while on field is the what the place possesses.

So, with my bunch of lads (and a lady) we headed to Smaaash. We had to, after all the hype and the fact that we could face a machine that can swing a ball like Akram, who would give it a miss? So the rush is crazy, we were all set and here is what followed:

Football (Penalties)

When you enter the area all you see is a metal goalkeeper, a sensor above and a funny orange coloured ball you got to put past the keeper. The first thought that crosses your mind is, “How hard could this be?” So, I step up, bring most of my footy knowledge of placing a ball in either of the corners and I shoot. To my surprise, this metal “monster” goes on to make a fine save. Amongst all the tries we took, the lady accompanying us put one past keeper thanks to her immaculate “toe” technique.

As far as the technical side of this gaming element is concerned, the keeper manages to save most shots. You need to be inch perfect to slot it in the top corner or else you are doomed. Yeah, they would not give away a Harley just like that! But, honestly it is over priced. 500 bucks for 10 shots is way too much. For someone who does not drink, the free beer per goal was not really an incentive either.

580222_10151935822144848_1366209452_n

All set to conquer the blaster

 Virtual Cricket (Blaster)

This was the activity I loved the most at Smaaash. So, like most Indians, we too were like “Ha, dekh lenge,” “Akram, Chakram sabki bowling ko maarenge” (Hindi connotations for ripping apart bowlers). Obviously, we underestimated the technology and what it lied in store for us. Trust me, this game is an addiction. Session after session, we did not stop. One can choose from various difficulty levels like Amateur, County and International. We opted for county and these bowlers did remind me of my ancestors.

The array of bowlers I faced included Akram, Lee, Malinga, Sachin, Murli, Kumble and Warne. Amongst pacers, I got the better of Lee (back at ya Aussie!) and spinners I pretty much smacked Warne all over the park (Hurle(y)d Ya). Oh yes, how can I forget, the ball does swing, spin and deceive you in most ways. It is actually like facing the men for real. It’s tough, it really is. You feel the fear of protecting your toe against Malinga and your private parts against Murli. You are bound to lose your wicket against Sachin because he will bowl every possible delivery in the book, even Yorkers, which are faster than Akram’s. International level is way worse (difficult). Almost had my head taken off.

The technology is Sachin biased, at least I feel so. Apart from that, the fielding simulations and shot distance calculator could have been better. I learnt that boundaries are calculated basis the bat speed. In my knowledge and experience of playing the game (which is more than 15 years) I have surely learnt that a simple clever flick too can fetch a six. 500 – 600 bucks for a 15 minute/7 over session is quite decent. Value for money without a doubt.

Bowling

The bowling alley has got to be one of the best in Mumbai (very few exist currently). The UV lights add some great appeal to the whole experience. The technology is one of the best in the world (Brunswick) and the length of the lanes is fairly decent. So the rest of the jing bang pretty much got competing, as far as I was concerned it was more about the outing than anything else (4 sessions of cricket did tire me down).

Overall, it is a good fun experience. Something that I had been missing since 6 months now. Rs. 350 per game is actually very decent.

F1 Simulator

So I don’t drive but who doesn’t want to know what it feels like to be Hamilton or a Webber. The F1 Simulator does look as good as an actual Formula 1 car. So all set I enter the car and the moment I sat I realized this is not going to be easy (not like your other gaming places for sure). The light goes green, the steering wheel becomes stiff and the revving engine pushes several decibel levels around you.

There are three screens around you to provide a spectacular view of all that is around you. I am not an F1 enthusiast, but yes it was a lot of fun. Again, the hole it burnt in my pocket seemed quite a bomb.

Others

The food at Smaaash is very good, Lot’s of options to choose from and great variety of cuisines. For all those who love drinking, they have a well stocked bar with several cocktails. Yes, there are happy hours too. I was not the one into the alcohol but yeah, my boozy friends were more than happy to chug! There are lots of mini games all around the area for kids and even adults. I am only writing about those I played there.

Overall, an experience worth cherishing. Since then I have made it a point to visit Smaaash at least once a month and never have I felt I did not get value for my money. Yes, it is such an addiction that you will splurge, but at the end of the day how many places in Mumbai offer a facility like this. Since, it is other side of the town, I don’t get the opportunity to visit it that ofen (my mom is glad I don’t blow up my entire salary!). But, Smaaash if you ever opened an outlet in the suburbs, you have your first weekly member right here!

Overall Ratings

Facility and Ambience – 4.5/5

Technology – 4/5

Food and Drinks – 4/5

Value for Money – 4/5

Happiness Quotient – Smiles Galore! 🙂

Leave a comment